By Cara Johnson

       The morning of November 23rd, 11 senior football players chosen from the Long Pin League to fill the roster for the West, took the field at Eagle High School for the East/West Shriner’s 8-man All-Star-Game.  Representing Tri-Valley were Michael Carpenter, Jayden Mink, Cody Nixon, and Orion Southwick offering both offensive and defensive weaponry.  Coaching the West team was Charlie Shepherd.
    Filling the 21-man roster for the East were seniors primarily from 1A Division 1 schools that included Notus, Wilder, Rimrock, Idaho City, and Horseshoe Bend coached by Kyle DalSaglio and Jason Roeber.
    What was thought to be a challenging match-up for the West team in actuality turned out to be a game totally dominated by the West and resulted in a historical 44 to 0 shut-out.
    Setting up the first score of the game was a timely fumble recovery by Cody Nixon and a short drive that culminated with a 3-yard run by Orion Southwick for the touchdown.  Tacking on the extra point was a pass from Jayden Mink to Randy McClure of Salmon River. The next two touchdowns were due to light-speed rushing from Canyon Harper with another two point conversion pass to Randy McClure. Early in the second quarter a stellar quarterback sack by Michael Carpenter caused a fumble that was scooped up by Orion Southwick and run into the end zone for a touchdown.  Adding the finishing touch was Canyon Harper with a 2 point conversion run. At halftime the score was an astronomical 36 to 0 for the West.
    The West defense continued to dominate the second half of the game while the offense threw in some exciting trick plays.  Culminating the scoring for the game was a stellar pick-six by Orion Southwick and 2 point conversion pass to Jayden Mink from Canyon Harper, making the final score 44 to 0. 
    Receiving a commemorative football for Most Valuable Player of the game for the West was Orion Southwick.  Receiving Idaho Sports players of the game were Canyon Harper of Salmon River and Orion Southwick of Tri-Valley. 
    Thanks for a great ride boys!  You did us all proud! 

Tri-Valley All-Star-Football players:  Orion Southwick (#10 MVP), Jayden Mink (#8), Cody Nixon (#36), and Michael Carpenter (#12).